Open_Sounds: Listen Twice

by Open_Sounds



01 prelude 02:32
02 chockablock 02:14
03 liasons dangereuses 07:19
04 old love never rusts 02:38
05 march 03:13
06 slaphappy 03:38
07 sentimental caliph 02:32
08 no way out 07:48
09 nocturne 04:28
10 six miniatures 05:34
11 cantilene 01:49
12 snazzy rats 01:25
13 near ipanema 06:17

total time 51:57


listen twice – play once:
listening as the key to making group improvisation truly collective composition

play once – listen time and again:
the contradictory but wonderful opportunity of recorded media to capture the momentary magic of free improvisation

Open_Sounds played together in this and other combinations from October 2004 until 2007. They met on an improvisation course for young composers led by Scott Roller and Ulrike Stortz. This ensemble contributed in a very real sense to Stortz/Roller’s founding Open_Music, a non-profit organization based in Stuttgart, Germany which has been very active and successful in working with young people of diverse musical backgrounds since 2005. More information:

This album was entirely finished in 2007 and should have been released by a German label in 2009, but at the last minute was cancelled due to complications. It has now been publically released for the first time on Scott Roller’s ROLLERMUSIC label on Bandcamp (as ROLLERMUSIC #02, released 12 June 2019).


released June 12, 2019


Ulrike Stortz: violin
Hanna Schraffenberger: alto saxophone
Phillip Staffa: electric guitar
Martin Jancevskis: fender rhodes
Joscha Eltrop: percussion
Scott Roller: cello

These pieces were freely improvised live in this order on Sunday morning, the 10th of December 2006 in the „Hochschule der Medien (Media University) Stuttgart“. The recorded improvisations were edited, mixed and mastered in August 2007 in the „Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie (Center for Art and Media Technology)“ in Karlsruhe. Special thanks to Oliver Curdt and Jörg Bauer (from the HMS) to Ludger Brümmer and Josh Martin (from the ZKM) for their generous cooperation on this project. Special thanks also to Carsten Zühlsdorf, who recorded the session and to Alexander Schubert, who assisted and advised Hanna Schraffenberger with the mastering. Mixing/editing by Hanna Schraffenberger and Scott Roller. All compositions copyright Open_Sounds, represented by Scott Roller and Hanna Schraffenberger (both GEMA).


If you like Open_Sounds: Listen Twice, you may also like: